Akuneni Maphosa Is New FEUZ President

ZIMTA elect new leaders

The Zimbabwe Teachers’ Association (ZIMTA) has elected a new National Executive led by Akuneni Maphosa, a veteran educationist, who posted 106 votes against Promise Keti’s 14 votes during the association’s 39th Extraordinary National Conference in Harare on Tuesday.

Maphosa replaced Richard Gundane as the ZIMTA president, who was the association’s leader for the past 10 years.

For the vice presidency, Elizabeth Mahiyana and William Mufarinya will be the second in command in the National Executive.

110 delegates voted Mufarinya while his rival Hasan Mutodzaniswa got nine votes.

ZIMTA has a new secretary general after Goodwill Taderera sailed through unopposed.

For the National Treasurer’s office, Wilson Mangena won by 95 votes while Ignatius Nheya had 16 and Winnie Kabanda at six votes.

The new Primary School Teachers’ Representative is Lovejoy Mapatsa who secured 20 votes, trailed by Chishamiso Ndlovu (5) and Zvomuya Henry (1).

Kuwadza Petros was selected as the National Secondary Teachers’ Representative.

Evelyn Manyame was elected the new National Tertiary Representative

In his acceptance speech, Maphosa thanked the ZIMTA delegates to the conference for the peaceful voting process.

He also paid tribute to the past president – Gundane – for his leadership in the past 10 years.

Maphosa called for unity among ZIMTA members for the success of the organisation.


ZIMTA Membership Form